mango & chickpea salad

mango & chickpea saladEating seasonal, preferably organic, locally sourced produce is a priority to me, so the majority of the food I eat fits this bill. But firmly placed in the minority (along with coffee, chocolate and basmati rice) are mangoes. Being a tropical fruit, they don’t grow happily around here, so have to be trucked down from the Northern Territory or Queensland, accruing lots of unwanted food miles in the process.

I justify buying mangoes with my ‘mostly’ approach to the things I value, meaning that I mostly make environmentally friendly food choices,  I am mostly moderate about eating rich desserts and so on… I love the experience of food too much to forgo everything that doesn’t fit my sustainability or health criteria, so I comfort myself with the knowledge that the good choices I do make, do make a difference overall.

Nigella Lawson once said that mangoes are best eaten in their natural state, preferably in the bath…and I tend to agree. There is nothing like the sensual lusciousness of a mango to send you to culinary heaven.

But we can’t all be lolling about in the bath eating mangoes, so here is a salad to enjoy instead. I’ve found that adults and kids alike tend to love this salad, making it a perfect addition to a summer barbecue spread or picnic basket. I have used baby spinach this time, but rocket works well too, and will give you lovely, peppery flavours that contrast nicely with the mango.

For the salad, add to a large salad bowl:

500g cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained (equivalent to 2 x 400g tins)
2 mangoes, cut into cubes
1 lebanese cucumber, finely diced
2 sticks celery, finely diced
4 tablespoons capers
4 generous handfuls baby spinach (or rocket if you prefer), washed and spun in a salad spinner to remove excess water

For the dressing, whisk together in a small bowl:

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
¼ cup lemon juice
1 organic egg yolk
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1 clove garlic, crushed
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Pour the dressing over the salad, and gently toss together to combine.

10 thoughts on “mango & chickpea salad

  1. Anna @ Camera & Clementine

    If you feel bad about eating Mango’s that actually grow in your homeland, imagine how I feel! I do love mango’s but I also care about food miles and tend to avoid the real high flyers. But I ate a lot of mango’s when I was in india…yum. This recipe looks super, and your bowl is gorgeous.

    Like

  2. nourishfoodlife Post author

    Yes…I guess you are a looong way from mango country! I’ve never been to India but I’m sure it would be a feast for all the senses – especially as a foodie and photographer. Did you bring home any favourite recipes?

    Like

  3. Anna @ Camera & Clementine

    Yes, how to make proper Chai (tea) Its so delicious! But what I discovered was that the curry’s I know from the indian restaurants here in the UK, are not the same as in actual India 🙂 In (north india where I was) they are far less saucy..So I didn’t come back with a curry revelation! But the lassi’s were superb!

    Like

  4. Liz

    Hi Sam,

    I made this salad (with rocket) to take to a school bbq last night. It received loads of compliments. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Rajani

    Hi Samantha,
    I love the idea of combining mango and chickpeas in this salad. I intend to try this combination soon, for it is mango season right now in India, and we can never have enough of mangoes at our home this time of the year. Luckily for me, we do get several local varieties of mangoes and a many more varieties that ‘travel’ all over the country ( should I worry about food miles too?, hope not)

    Like

Leave a comment

